

# #2 Career Development and Leadership Skills in Industry ~ WIE ~

IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE) is a global network of IEEE members and volunteers dedicated to promoting women engineers and scientists and inspiring girls worldwide to follow their academic interests in a career in engineering and science. To inspire and encourage women working or learning in technology field, Prof.Wu, Dr.Tan, Prof.Hashimoto, and Prof.Inamori will give talks based on their rich experience. The webinar will be followed by a discussion time where you can discuss directly with the panelists and observers. We welcome you to throw your questions when you register to design the breakout room discussion together! Through this webinar, we will also introduce the Mentor program to assist you in finding your Mentor in IEEE.

Date&Time: August 2, 2024, 12:00 ~ 14:00, Japan Standard Time

#### Timetable:

12:00~12:10: Opening, IEEE and Mentor Program Introduction 12:10~12:20: Prof. Min Wu talk 12:20~12:30: Dr. Don Tan talk 12:30~12:40: Prof. Mamiko Inamori talk 12:40~12:50: Prof. Takako Hashimoto talk 12:50-13:10: Breakout Room Discussion 13:10~13:50: QA 13:50~14:00: Ending

## Breakout Room Theme:

1) Career and work-life balance (WIE and General)

2) Career plans and role models for long-term career inspiration (WIE)

- 3) How to create a good career for both women and men (WIE)
- 4) Building careers through studying and working abroad (WIE and General)
- 5) Find a Mentor through IEEE (WIE and General)

Let's secure your schedule right <u>HERE</u> and right now!

Advancing Technology for Humanity

You will receive a Zoom invitation later.

# Panelists



Dr. Don Tan. Ph.D. IEEE Fellow IEEE Fellow Committee Chair, 2022-2023 IEEE TEC President, 2024-IEEE IEC Vice Chair, 2022, 2024-IEEE BoD Division II Director, 2017-2018 IEEE PELS President, 2013-2014 IEEE JESTPE EiC (Founding), 2013-2018 IEEE/Google Little Box Challenge Chair, 2014-2015



**Prof. Min Wu. IEEE Fellow, AAAS Fellow** IEEE Technical Committee on Information Forensics and Security Chair, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Editor-in-Chief IEEE Signal Processing Society President (2024-2025) Professor and Associate Dean of Engineering, <u>ECE</u> <u>Department</u>, <u>Univ. of Maryland</u>, <u>College Park (UMD)</u>



Prof. Takako Hashimoto– Ph.D., IPSJ Fellow IEEE R10 Director-Elect 2023-2024 IEEE Chair of IEEE Japan Council (2021-22) IEEE BoG of IEEE Computer Society (2021-23) IEEE Past Chair of IEEE Women in Engineering (2015-16) IEEE 2019 MGA Larry K.Wilson Transnational Award Fellow of the Information Processing Society of Japan, 2019 Professor, Director of International Center, Chiba University of Commerce



Prof. Mamiko Inamori, Ph.D., IEEE Senior Member IEEE Japan Council Woman in Engineering Vice Chair, 2016-2020 IEEE Tokyo Section Student Activities Committee Chair, 2019-2020 IEEE Tokyo/Shin-etsu Joint Section WIE Chair, 2020-2022 IEEE R10 Student Activities Committee Award Coordinator, 2021-2022 IEEE R10 Student Activities Committee Vice Chair, 2023-Associate Professor, Tokai University



# Observer



## Dr. Shoko Araki, Ph.D., IEEE Fellow

IEEE SPS AASP-TC, Chair 2023-2024, Vice Chair 2022 IEEE WASPAA 2021, Technical Program Chair IEEE Japan Council, History Committee, Secretary, 2019-2020 IEEE WASPAA 2017, Far East Liaison, IEEE SPS HSCMA 2017, Technical Program Chair IEEE Kansai Section, Woman in Engineering, Chair 2016-2017 Senior Research Scientist, NTT Corporation



Prof. Seishi Takamura, Dr. Eng., IEEE Fellow IEEE Japan Council Chapter Operations Committee Chair, Fellow Elevation Support Ad-hoc Committee Chair IEEE Fellow Committee Member IEEE Region 10 Zone Representative for North Asia Professor, Hosei University / Visiting Senior Distinguished Scientist, NTT Corporation IEEE/IEICE/IPSJ/ITE/AAIA Fellow



Akihiko Sugiyama, Dr. Eng., IEEE Fellow IEEE Fellow Committee Member, 2018-2021, 2022-2023 IEEE SPS Distinguished Industry Speaker, 2020-2021 IEEE CTS Renowned Distinguished Speaker (The Rock Star), 2020-IEEE CTS Distinguished Lecturer, 2017-2018 IEEE SPS Distinguished Lecturer, 2014-2015 IEEE SPS AASP-TC, Chair, 2011-2012

### Moderator



Yui Nozoe Director, IEEE Japan Office

